top of page

Biden Issues Travel Ban For Select Countries

On January 25, 2021, President Biden issued a “Proclamation on the Suspension of Entry as Immigrants and Non-Immigrants of Certain Additional Persons Who Pose a Risk of Transmitting Coronavirus Disease.” The Proclamation maintains travel restrictions on individuals from the Schengen Area, U.K., Ireland, and Brazil, which were scheduled to be lifted on January 26, 2021, via a January 18, 2021 proclamation issued by the Trump administration. It is effective at 12:01 am (ET) on January 26, 2021, for these countries. In addition to those countries listed, previous restrictions implemented by the Trump Administration remain for both China and Iran. The Proclamation also adds South Africa to the list of travel ban countries. The effective date of the travel ban on entry from South Africa is 12:01 a.m. (ET), January 30, 2021.

The Proclamation will remain in effect until it is terminated and orders the Secretary of Health and Human Services to review the restrictions and advise whether the bans should be continued, modified, or terminated 30 days from issuance, and by the end of each month thereafter.

Additionally, today Press Secretary Jen Psaki confirmed that beginning January 26, 2021, all international travelers to the U.S. must provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test to airlines within three days prior to their departure.

*Steven M. Ladik is past President of the American Immigration Lawyers Association and represents numerous professional golfers on the LPGA Tour and PGA TOUR. He also serves as the outside Immigration Counsel to the National Football League. He is a Partner at Seltzer Chadwick Soefje & Ladik, PLLC.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page